thrify thursday part 4

So since marrying J.- I have become a thrift shop connoisseur.  We went to the Salvation Army down by the Sunday Breakfast Mission and the Waterfront in the Wilmington and it is awesome– so if you live in Wilmington and love thrifting you should come with me to check it out.

I was lusting over these candlesticks from Pottery Barn and other ones like these, but I didn’t want to pay over $50 for 2 small ones!

So I got these at thrift store for 50 cents each so $1 total… but they looked a little 1970s dark wood paneling like…

I primed them and I thought that might be enough but no!  They needed more paint…

So I spray painted them for $4.19 from Kmart

I might add a little distressing.. but that kinda stresses me out because I feel like I might ruin them…

This project cost me

$1.00 for both candlestick +

$4.19 for spray paint +

$1.19 for candy eggs +

$2.99 for the candle from Tuesday Mornings +

and the nest was from my wedding

Total: $9.37

Not to bad- So take that pottery barn!

Anybody have any exciting projects going on?

~ by katemorgner on April 1, 2010.

2 Responses to “thrify thursday part 4”

  1. I’m glad I’m not the only person who stresses out about distressing! But I have two projects planned for this spring/summer where I’m going to make myself try it. The worst than can happen is that I need to paint over it again, right?

    Right?

  2. right! that is the only thing that can go wrong soooo I am going to give it a try!

Leave a Reply

 
