Eat fresh. Eat local. Eat seasonal.

I read part of the book Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver earlier this year.  It inspired me to think about what I eat and when I eat it and how far the food had to travel to get to me.  How we are all responsible for the damage that all creates on this earth.

So A few friends and I are doing the Calvert Farm Co-op and last Thursday was our first pick up…We got lettuce (romaine and another type of leafy one, chives, scallions, mushrooms (white), and rhubarb.  I ran across this recipe for rhubarb on this great website Smitten Kitchen and past by it without a thought but then there was some rhubarb in our box this week and so I had to back to find it… wish me luck in making it!  I have never ever done anything with rhubarb- so it’s an adventure!

~ by katemorgner on May 25, 2010.

4 Responses to “Eat fresh. Eat local. Eat seasonal.”

  1. Jealous! I wish we had a co-op thing here, for now the farmer’s market will have to do…

    I should e-mail you my mom’s recipe for rhubarb muffins… they’re too yummy :)

  2. I have to say that I love rhubarb! Strawberry rhubarb muffins are great! I have recipes for both regular and whole wheat ones! Strawberry rhubarb pie is also really good. Just have to be careful when making something that is just rhubarb because alone it is very bitter with little taste. You need to make sure you have something in the recipe that will sweeten it up :) Those are just my words of wisdom for you! :)

Leave a Reply

 
