What I have been reading: The Council of Dads

I had heard an interview with Bruce Fieler a while ago and really wanted to read this book. Since I have been a substitute teacher, I have had a lot more time to read during the work day and it has inspired me to read more.

Bruce wrote this book and the letters in the book while he was fighting cancer and facing the fact that he might not be around to raise his twin 3 year old daughters.  About to become a parent myself, I found myself overwhelmed with emotion at times and laughing along with Bruce at other times.  He chooses during this time to choose a counsel of dads for his daughters for if he was not going to make it. He chooses 6 men who all represent a different characteristic of what he would want his daughters to have help in along the way.  It helped me to recognize even in my own friends that they didn’t need to be all things to all people, but they could bring one aspect to my life that I admired and learned from. It helped me to see the people that I love in a better light.

A few quotes that I loved:

“Having patience with everything unresolved in your heart. Try to love the questions themselves.  Do not seek the answers now, because you would not be able to live them. And the point is to live the questions.”

One of his friends said this, “My first thought when you got sick is that you can’t have enough people around you at at time like that.  Just jump in with an extra set of hands.  But then you started showing me how to deal with a moment in which beauty wasn’t unspooling everyday, but in which something ugly was happening.”

Bruce said about his lost year’ “In lying fallow, I became more fertile.”

I relate to this last year as a more fallow year for me in which I wish I could have reacted more like Bruce, instead of fighting it all the way. I had a lot to learn from Bruce’s book even though I am not fighting cancer.

~ by katemorgner on September 30, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
